Van Niekerk lands highest honour

Dane van Niekerk picks up top honour in SA women’s cricket as she was named Cricketer of the Year. 

Proteas Women skipper has been named SA Women’s Cricketer of the Year for 2018.

This was the second time she had received the top honour, having previously picked up the award in 2016.

Van Niekerk received her award at Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) annual awards function, held in Sandton on Saturday 2 June 2018.

Van Niekerk’s award was recognition for an incredible season which saw her ranked as the No 2 all-rounder in women’s international cricket as well as the No 9 ranked bowler in the world.

She achieved an historic milestone at the ICC Women’s World Cup when she returned the stunning figures of 4-0 against the West Indies and led the Momentum Proteas to their best ever performance at this tournament, when they lost by the narrowest of margins in the semi-finals to eventual champions England.

Other Women’s awards went to Laura Wolvaardt who did the double of SA Women’s Players Player of the Year and Women’s ODI Player of the Year, while Chloe Tryon was named Women’s T20 International Player of the Year.

By Simon Lewis

SA Cricketmag