Stellar season for Warriors team as they announce top performers

Press Release

The Warriors announced their top performers at the annual Warriors Awards at the Boardwalk Convention Centre in Port Elizabeth on Wednesday evening, Celebrating the 2018/19 season which was one of the best seasons in some time for the Warriors Team.

The team for the new season was also announced at the glamorous event, attended by players, Warriors management, Nelson Mandela Bay Deputy Mayor Thsonono Buyeye and Cricket SA director, Donovan May.

Warriors Head Coach, Rivash Gobind, commended the players for their outstanding performance during the 2018/2019 season. Gobind said the next season will bring its fair amount of challenges but the team is pumped and ready to get going come October 7, 2019.

“In terms of performance last season, there were a lot of stand-out players – particularly those who were awarded this evening experience something different. And what it did reinforce is that we do a lot of things right down here in Port Elizabeth and in East London as the Warriors.

“For me the team is made up of two parts, and the first part is the individual. I look at their character, how they fair under pressure and the type of people that they are.

The second part, is taking those individuals and turning them into a team, both on the field and off the field. Whenever they are faced with something, or there is a challenge ahead of them they go out and take it on as team. I am very honoured to be a part of that.”

Deputy mayor Buyeye said the city is behind The Warriors team. “It is a very high honour to represent your city or your country in any sport. We wish our Warriors a hugely successful season ahead. The people of the Bay are proud of you.”

When asked what he was looking forward to most, for the season ahead, Newcomer of the Year Sinethemba Qeshile said: “I’m not looking too far ahead to be honest, I’m trying to just stay in the present. I am so happy to be given all these awards and hopefully it can carry on into next season. As a youngster coming in from high school I’m very excited to have received these and to be welcomed by this team.”

Captain Jon Jon Smuts said: “The team deserves all the recognition it received. As seen by the vast number of players who received awards this year, it really has been a stellar team performance from us and that’s something I’m really proud of. We have an unbelievable squad going forward, a squad with great experience and some youth as well, so it’s going to be really exciting to see everyone’s growth over the next couple of months”

This year’s award winners are

4 Day Cricket:
Batting Award – Eddie Moore
Bowling Award – Anrich Nortje
4 Day Player of the Series: Trophy – Eddie Moore

50 Over Cricket:
Batting Award – Sinethemba Qeshile
Bowling Award – Lutho Sipamla
50 Overs Player of the Series: Trophy – Jon Jon Smuts

T20 Cricket:
Batting Award – Marco Marais
Bowling Award – Sisanda Magala
T20 Player of the Series: Trophy – Sisanda Magala Most

Promising Player: Trophy – Sinethemba Qeshile Fans
Player of the Year: Trophy – Jon Jon Smuts
Performance of the Season T20 final sponsored by One Stop Trophy Shop – Jon Jon Smuts

Sports and Recreation Eastern Cape Awards
Newcomer of the year – Sinethemba Qeshile

Team of the Year
Warriors Cricketer of the Year: Trophy – Jon Jon Smuts

The team for 2019/2020 is:
Captain – Jon Jon Smuts
Christiaan Jonker
Andrew Birch
Gihahn Cloete
Rudi Second
Eddie Moore
Lutho Sipamla
Lesiba Ngoepe
Sinethemba Qeshile
Jade de Klerk
Yaseen Vallie
Sithembile Langa
Sisanda Magala
Matthew Breetzke
Glenton Stuurman
Anrich Nortje
Marco Marais
Onke Nyaku

For any further information and inquiries contact: Odwa Bata – Media Intern (Eastern Province Cricket) Cell: +2779-248-9618 Email:

Warriors Countdown

WSB Cape Cobras vs Warriors

Recent News

Warriors appoint Robin Peterson as new interim head coach
October 28, 2019
Gobind steps down as Warriors head coach
October 4, 2019
The beginning of a new season
October 4, 2019


September 2019